Story Structure


Yes, this post is late this week and I didn’t get one in last week. It has been a really busy couple of weeks. Not only has my writing been keeping busy, but I also have had some changes in my daily job.  Things are definitely changes right now and most of them are for the good.

One thing I found myself dealing with last week was my novel writing. I had been plugging away on it, producing 1500 words or more every day, but I wasn’t feeling it. In all honesty, I felt like I was writing in a huge circle, not really getting to the story.

This meant I needed to go back to my plot. Yes, I had a general idea of where I wanted my story to go, but when I had gotten too frustrated with trying to come up with the plot, I decided to go right to writing. This was probably a mistake. Although the words were flowing and I had some great ideas while I was writing, I wasn’t producing the story I had in my mind. I needed to get all the dots connected before I even thought about putting another word on the computer.

This was where Pinterest came in. I did a search on novel plotting and got tons of pins to read through. And then I found the one which really changed my entire week. On it, there was a number of articles and videos to read and watch about plotting. And there was where I found, Dan Well’s Story Structure.

This series of five videos really helped me to see what I was missing from my plot and helped me to start reworking it. I watched all five videos, taking lots of notes and then set about working on my plot, using the method he described.

He talks about Story Structure in his videos and how using a seven point system helps you come up with a plot. The difference is, he doesn’t go about it in order. He skips around and the more I listened, the more I knew this was going to be the thing I needed to help me with my plot.

As the week went on, I continued to work on my basic plot and actually feel pretty good about it. And now I’m going to do the same thing in order to get through my subplots. Although most of the stuff he talked about I have read time and time again, the method in which he shows and talks about it, clicked in my head. The examples also helped.

I would highly recommend for anyone who is having trouble with plotting or even wanting to know more about plotting, to check out his videos. They are well worth the time.

And now I need to get back to my own story structure.

Until next time….Keep Writing!

Leave a Reply

