Guilty Little Pleasures


When trying to figure out what to write this week on my blog, I was stuck. My novel is still in the planning phase and everything else is the same. Then my friend recommended falling off the wagon since she had bought a dozen donuts that day after her walk. And it got me to thinking about guilty pleasures.

Everyone has a guilty pleasure or two. You know what I am talking about. That thing which you do that you know you shouldn’t, but it always gives you such a rush of pleasure that sometimes you just can’t help yourself.

I have a few. But I think the one I am struggling with right now is my reading. One reason is that I am four books into a really good series that I just can’t seem to get enough of. The other reason, I just love to read. Besides writing, it is the one thing I would rather do.

The past week, I have found myself struggling to get anything writing related done because I just want to find out what happens next to the main character in the novel I am reading. I tell myself I will read one chapter and get to work on my novel planning. Nope, I end up reading until it is time for me to go to bed, and even then I end up falling asleep with my Kindle.

But I have to ask myself, is my guilty pleasure all that bad for me? You always hear that as a writer you should be reading. Reading helps a writer to see how plots are formed. How to bring the character to life for the reader. As well as opening your imagination for your own project.

But for me it is an escape and another procrastination method. I can tell myself as much as I want that the reading is actually part of writing, but I never put it down for a goal that day. Mainly because I typically read at nights before going to bed. But reading before then has become some what of a way to keep myself from working on my plot.

And it isn’t that I don’t like the plot I’m trying to figure out. It’s just my fear of actually writing and failure in this dream of mine. So, I will need to put my guilty little pleasure away until I am ready for bed and start writing.

What is your guilty little pleasure as a writer?

Until next week…. Keep writing.

Leave a Reply

