Moods and Writing


Have you ever just been in one of those moods where you don’t want to look, talk, or even hear anyone? You would much rather be home, curled up in a nice warm bed, reading a book than having to deal with your daily life?

I’m in one of those moods today. I don’t feel like being an adult today or dealing with anything remotely that resembles being an adult. In all honesty, I would love nothing better than to have a nice little temper tantrum. I wonder if maybe throwing myself onto the floor kicking and screaming would finally pull me out of this funk I have found myself in.

I started out pretty well this morning. Got up at my normal time and proceeded to follow my normal Monday morning routine. But as the morning has progressed, I have found myself falling deeper and deeper into a horrible mood.

The past half hour, I have spent trying to get this blog post written.  I would get two to three paragraphs in with an idea I thought was wonderful and then delete everything. I attempted this about four times before I threw up my hands and opened Facebook.

I ignored my the website calling to me to post a blog. I ignore the little note in my notebook that told me that today was my day to write a post. I focused on reading other people’s Facebook posts and then switched to Pinterest to see what new and interesting recipes were available.

As I looked through Pinterest and saw all the articles about writing, I slowly found the connection with my mood. It wasn’t just a bad mood settling over me in the hopes of ruining my day, it was because of my failed attempt at writing. I had this idea for what I wanted my blog post to be about this morning and no matter how much I tried, I wasn’t able to get what I wanted onto the screen. I couldn’t express the thoughts and ideas that were floating around my head and this lead me into a foul mood.

As I sat here thinking about this, I realized this hasn’t been the first time this has happened either. There are multiple times I can associate my mood being dictated because of my writing. Not only when I couldn’t quite express what I wanted to, but also by just what I was writing.

Although I have been desperately trying to focus only on my novel planning, there was a few days toward the end of last week when I was just drawn to work on a piece I have been toying with off and on for years. I sat and started to write a scene I’ve tried writing over and over. It is a sad scene from the story that I’ve avoided, but on this day I needed to get it out of my head. As I wrote this scene, I found myself sinking deeper and deeper into the depressed mood I was trying to portray in my writing. And it was one that lingered for the rest of the night, even after I called it quits on my writing for the day.

There are other times that the mood I was in to start with had a tendency to reflect on what I wrote. If I was having a bad day, I would write a darker scene. And the opposite would be true if I was having a really good day. The more I thought about this, I realized that my writing has a big affect on my mood and the reverse was also true. How could it be that it took me this long to actually realize this? I don’t know but it will definitely help as I continue on my writing path.

Now that I’ve written this post, do I feel better? A little. I still would rather be curled up with a good book than sitting at my desk, but some of the darkness has lifted. Hopefully, as the day progresses, I will feel even better.

So, the next time you find yourself in a horrible mood, think about what your current project. Could it be that sending you into a temper tantrum type of mood? And please share with me some of the ways you have handled it. I would love to hear it.

Until next time…Keep Writing!

 

 

Leave a Reply

