Spending Time and Spending Life


Yes, I know that I planned to write a post every week. And I’ve actually been doing pretty well with that, but this past week I actually didn’t get one written. Why? Because I have been busy, busy working on my writing.

This blog post is writing, but there are times when the actual writing and outlining of stories takes me away from posting on my blog. This, to me, is a very good thing. It means that my focus is on creating new works of fiction. This is my ultimate goal in my life.

Quote

This morning, I was reading through some pf the weekly websites and blog posts that I typically do on Mondays. Mondays is my day to take care of the little business things that I need to get done for my writing. I read blogs, write my blog, and do other items that pertain to being a writing that would typically take away from my actual writing. Anyhow, this morning while reading through some blog posts, I came across a quote which I plan to post where I will see it every day.

“How you spend your time is how you spend your life.” Carol Lloyd.

This quote really got my attention. I have considered myself a writer for quite a while, but there are days when I seriously procrastinate. I don’t focus my time on what I want from my life. This quote basically tells me that if I want my life to be as a writer, then I need to spend my time writing.

Although the past few weeks have been a lot more productive than I had been previously, I still find myself curling up on the couch and watching Netflix in the evenings instead of focusing on getting even more writing done than I had done earlier in the day.

Hopefully, having this quote right in front of my face every day, I will focus more time on my writing than I had been.

Outlining

One thing I really have been focusing on these past few weeks is getting my outline going for my novel I’m going to start writing come June (or earlier if possible). I have been feeling that I’ve been running in circles with trying to figure out everything I want to have happen. Then I realized that I had two books at my disposal: Outlining Your Novel & Outlining Your Novel Workbook by K.M. Weiland.

I had gotten the Kindle version of these books a while ago and took no time at all to read through them. But then I forgot I had them while focusing on other projects. But when I was getting frustrated about my current project, I found these two treasures and quickly began to use them.

If you haven’t gotten the chance to read these wonderful guides to creating an outline, I would definitely recommend it. I have made so much progress on my novel since I started using the books to help me figure out where I want my novel to go.

Short Story

My other project of getting a short story written and edited by the 29th of this month, hasn’t been going as well. One reason is that I have been so involved with my novel project, but the other reason is that I haven’t been able to find the story that I’ve been passionate about. The more I work on one idea, the less I find that it is the right one.

Friday I did come up with another idea, which I feel might be a better story. It falls under the same topic, but is a completely different idea than I originally had. I’m hoping that by the end of this week, I will have a story written and ready for me to edit next week. Who knows, depending on my new quote, I might actually get the story started tonight.

 

That is my weekly update on what has been happening on the writing front. I would love to hear if there are any quotes that inspire you with your writing.

Until next time…Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

