Need to Get Myself in Gear


Last week wasn’t a real productive week for me. Although I did get some things accomplished, I didn’t get nearly as much as I wanted to.

I have a friend who I’ve been writing letters and I was actually expressing to him how I have the tendency to procrastinate when it comes to my writing. It isn’t that I don’t want to write, but just the fact that I have a terrible time getting myself started. Once I start, then I’m good to go, but it is the actually starting which I feel is my downfall.

I’ve thought about this a lot since I wrote that letter and I think my problem is the fear. I’m afraid that by writing I am wasting my time on something that in the end, I won’t ever get published. I am also afraid that I really am not that good of a writer. And the things I write aren’t going to be important to anyone else but me.

How do writers get past these fears? I know from reading plenty of blog posts and articles, that they just sit down and get the writing done anyhow. But what happens when the fears are what keeps you from sitting down in the first place?

This is my biggest issue when it comes to my writing. Getting myself to actually start.

I though once my husband and son were gone in the evenings due to working second shift that I would get all this writing done, but truthfully, most nights I find myself curling up on the couch and watching the television shows that I have programmed on the DVR. And I’ve tried the reward system of not getting to watch television until I’ve gotten writing done, but then something happens like my medical issue and that gets blown out of the window.

What I need to do is find a way that works for me! Something that will work for me to actually get myself writing. Because once I start, then I actually am able to get a great deal done.

I think this is what I seriously need to work on this week. Getting myself into a routine which will get myself actually started and then I’ll be good from there.

I’ll let you know how I do next week.

Until next time… Keep Writing!!!

Leave a Reply

