The Past Week Had Been Rough


I know it is Tuesday instead of Monday, but yesterday was the last day for National Novel Writing Month and I wanted to reach my 50,000 words, which I did. Yeah!!! I’m really glad that is over and I’ll talk more about that later.

I want to start off by saying that I had every intention of getting a blog post out last week. I had it scheduled on my planner and everything, but then the week just got way out of hand.

Have you ever had one of those weeks where no matter how much you try, you just can’t seem to get anything done on your list? That was me last week. One reason was that I was dealing with a personal issue with a friend. Between text messages and phone calls, I felt like I was attached to my phone permanently. The other part was because I still am not feeling the best physically. Actually on Thanksgiving all I wanted to do was stay curled up in bed because of the amount of pain I was in.

The week progressed and nothing was getting done. Even yesterday, I thought to myself that usually the day of or day after Thanksgiving I have my house decorated for Christmas. Not even done yet, although I was able to get the decorations out and sit them in the living room yesterday evening.

So, as I said, I was able to reach 50,000 words, but it is nothing I will be able to edit and make publishable. One reason is that halfway through I ended up switching stories because the one I was working on, wasn’t going to work. To not lose my word count, I just switched the story I was working on at the roughly 20,000 words mark. Now that story I was working on has been one I’ve toyed with off and on for years. It is always my back up story that I toy with whenever I get stuck or need to get words on paper, but don’t really have a full idea. So my final 30,000 words are snippets to a novel that I will someday actually write from beginning to end. It is the rough beginning, with big gaps here and there.

Once I was able to get my words to the 50,000 word mark, I had to think about where I was going to go next. I really loved the concept of my originally story, but there was just something not right about it. I don’t know if it was the characters or the different aspects. I just know that it wasn’t working.

In order to come up with a solution. I took my writing time today and brainstormed. I tried a new method and it seemed to work. Don’t laugh, but I basically typed weird form of conversation with myself. I started by asking myself what did I want the story about. After I answered that, I asked another question about how I wanted to handle that. I went through all the things I felt wasn’t working with the story when I attempted to write it previously. And in the end and after over 1,000 words, I came up with a premise which is about the same type of the things, but in a different aspect.

I probably need to explain that better. My idea for the story was about a group of people who search for objects that are linked to the paranormal world in some way. This is going to stay true in the next story, but instead of a young girl being pulled into this world she never knew existed, I’m going to have it be more of a government agency type of project.

After going through my brainstorming session, I feel this is probably the way I should have gone from the beginning. This was my original thought, but along the way somewhere it got turned into a different story. I want to eventually make it into a series and this way will be even easier to do it to.

Now I just need to do some research and plot this story. I have a rough plot that I think I could just continue to expand on until I feel I have everything covered. It may take me some time, but I want this novel to be something different and fresh for people who read in the paranormal genre.

My plans are to hopefully continued to get at least 2,000 words written a day, whether it be on the plot of this story, the backup story that I am always working on, or even some new short stories. It has been a really long time since I’ve written an actually short story and lately I have been itching to do it again.

Along the way I am sure I will hit some bumps in the road, but as long as I have my final destination in sight, I should be okay.

By the way, I wanted to update you on the new way I have been working on my writing. Remember in my last post, I had mention how sitting for long periods of time isn’t exactly the best thing for me right now and I realized that I seem to be more productive in word count when I do it in spurts, well I continued to write that way when the days allowed me to. It was because of that I was able to get the word count in for National Novel Writing Month. I don’t always sit down and write every hour, but every time I find myself with at least ten minutes, I’ve been writing. I try to keep a Word document open at all times so I can just quickly pull it up and write.

It’s definitely one way to get word counts in and I find that the times in between I am more focused on the thinking I’m doing about the novel. I am thinking more about the next scene I want to write instead of what I need to have happen one, two or even more chapters ahead.

I’m going to continue to do this and see what my word count ends up being at the end of the weeks. I haven’t been able to do this yet, but I’ll let you know how I make out from other weeks when I wrote in long passages of time.

Well, until next time…. Keep writing!!

Leave a Reply

