Putting A Smile On Your Face


I actually had a post written in the middle of last week, but decided that I needed to write this one instead. The reason? Because the purpose of this blog is to write about what I am going through as a writer and what I’m currently dealing with is something I think I need to share.

Back in April I ended up getting surgery due to a very large cyst on my ovary. Afterwards I was doing good until about two months ago when the pain came back. Headed back to the doctor and found I had another cyst. We didn’t want to do another surgery since this one wasn’t as big so I took medication and hoped that the cyst would get smaller. As the time went, I had less and less pain, but when I would do too much sitting or bending over, it would come back. Went back to the doctor last week and the cyst was gone. But she could tell that I was still having pain.

The doctor made the determination that I have something called Adenomyosis, which is the inner lining of the uterus breaking through the muscle wall. It is something that can happen to women my age if they had had a surgery on their uterus, such as a C-section (which I had almost 20 years ago). The only way to know for sure if this is the problem is to have the uterus removed and tested. The only cure for it is also having the uterus removed. But surgery isn’t necessarily the only option. If the pain is manageable with medication such as pain relievers, then people can go the rest of their life without having surgery.

We made the decision not to do the surgery at this time, but try to control the pain with medication since the pain manageable. If it got to the point where I couldn’t handle it anymore, then I would need to have the surgery which can be a 2 to 6 weeks recovery.

Being me, I did some research once I got to a computer and one thing I have learned was that when you have adenomysis, your uterus is very sensitive so something like an ultrasound can send you into a spiral of pain, with very little relief from medication. Which is where I have been since last Tuesday. It hurts to sit. It hurts to stand. Basically, the only time I have been comfortable is when I’m lying down.

As you probably assumed, it isn’t feasible for me to just be lying down all the time. I have a house to take care, a job, and my writing career. So, I’ve been putting on my happy face and dealing with the pain. But I haven’t really been writing like I want to. I’ve forced myself to get some words done in the morning, but come the evening… all I want to do is lay down and relieve the pain.

Luckily, a call to the doctor yesterday helped a little since they told me to take Tylenol besides the Aleeve I was taking, plus take the Aleeve every 8 hours instead of 12. This morning I’m hurting, but not to the point where it is unbearable and I want to cry.

What does this have to do with writing, you may ask. Well, I’ve been thinking a lot about how I am falling behind on my word count and will really need to push myself to get caught back up, but then I realized that pushing myself won’t help, just cause the pain to come back. And then I had another idea.

Typically, I write roughly 2,000 or more words during one sitting. I push myself to get my word count in so that it is done for the day, at least on those days when the words are hard to get out. With falling behind on my count, I would need to do roughly 5,000 words a day to get back on schedule. And the more I thought about it, the more I worried about trying to knock that out in one shot.

Then it hit me!!! Why push for 5,000 words in one sitting. I’ve done tons of word sprints of 10 minutes to 30 minutes where I would average 500 to 1000 words. If I did roughly ten 10 minutes words sprints with a word count of 500 words, I would get my 5,000 words in.

So that is my goal for the day. Try to do my writing in sprints so that I’m not sitting in my chair for hours knocking out the words. Allow myself to take breaks in between and I might just be able to keep my pain at a minimum and allow myself to heal and get better without having to go for a major surgery.

I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Until next time. Keep Writing!!

Leave a Reply

