November is Here; My Journey Begins


Good morning!

It is now officially November and for plenty of writers out there, it means the start of striving to write 50,000 words in 30 days. I am one of those writers, but things for me are a little different. I need to reach my 50,000 words in 21 days instead of 30. Why? Well, I don’t work on my writing during the weekends.

This was a decision I made a long time ago in order for me to make sure that I spend quality time with my family. With our different work schedules, weekends are the only time we spend more than 35 minutes together, so I am not going to take away from that. So, weekends are for family.

This leads to a little different November for me. Typically, a writer needs to write 1,677 words a day in order to reach 50,000 words by November 30th. With me taking weekends off, I need to write 2,400 words a day.

Looking at that total does make my heart do a little extra beat, but I have done that and more while working on freelancing, so I really shouldn’t have any problem getting it done. But there is always that self-doubt floating in the back of my mind, mainly because recently, my writing has been taking a back seat to everything else.

But I’ve made a promise to myself to get this novel done. I will have to push myself some days and work through days when I only want to curl up on the couch in the evenings and watch TV, but I will do it.

The National Novel Writing Month (nanowrimo.org) site will help with this. I will have their encouragement as well as all the people who are in my region. Tonight is even our first Write-In, where I will gather with fellow writers and work on my novel.

In the end, I will hopefully have a 50,000 or more word novel that I will be able to start editing and send out to be published. What more could a writer strive for?

Since my purpose for this blog is to have my readers follow along on my journey, I figured there is no better way then to start by sharing with you my idea for my novel.

My novel is called Enchanted Objects and will be about a young woman who ends up discovering she is actually a very powerful witch who due to no fault of her own, gets brought before the Paranormal Council for doing unauthorized magic. Her punishment will be to work with the Paranormal Object Retrieval Network until her debt for the crime is paid off. The first case will be to capture the Mirror Man that she accidentally released and get him back into his mirror before anyone (or anymore) people are harmed.

My novel will hopefully turn into a series, but for now I am only focusing on this one.

I’ve been working on the plot for months and although I’m not completely satisfied with it, I know that as I write, more ideas and changes will occur, so I’m as ready as I can be to begin my journey of 50,000 words.

Hopefully, all of you will follow along with my journey in this blog.

Until next time…. Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

