Update


Hello everyone!

I wanted to do a little update for you in case you were wondering what was going on.

As I mentioned, I smashed the tip of my middle finger in a machine at my day job. I ended up with two stitches to hold the nail in place and heal the nail bed. I really wouldn’t recommend this for anyone. It is not a pleasant process and twelve days later it still hurts to bump or put pressure on the finger. Yesterday I got the stitches removed and everything looks good, but it certainly wasn’t as simple and pain free as everyone said it would be. The one stitch was tight and it took her pushing on the nail to get it cut and out.

There have been a few things I have learned through this experience. One is just how much you use the fingers on your non-dominant hand. Just about everything you do involves both hands and when you try your hardest not to use the middle finger, it isn’t easy. Just typing this is trying because I use the middle finger on my right hand to type and when you can’t, your fingers easily miss or use different keys. It is a slower process.

The other thing I have learned is just how much I miss writing. I gave myself last week to recuperate and try to keep the finger safe. This meant that I didn’t work on writing since even now I have a tendency to automatically use that finger on a key and I get a nice little reminder of shooting pain not to do it. The thing was, I thought about writing every minute. I would get home in the evenings and watch some television, but the whole time my mind was on plotting and thinking about what I really should have been doing.

So, this week, my plan is to slowly get myself back into my routine. I’ve made a few changes on things and sine i had mentioned that I was going to start the new school year as my own personal fresh start, this is my plan for the rest of the week. Yesterday wasn’t too productive on that front because I was dealing with the repercussions of the stitches being removed, but today…. today needs to be different.

I’m thinking as this week as my trial run for my new schedule. See what works, what needs changed and what I need to do in order to make sure that my writing life is back on track.

This blog is still up in the air on what I want to do. I loved having the daily accountability, but it also took time away from other projects. So I need your help. Leave me a message about what you would like to see on my blog. Did you like how I would update daily about my journey? Would you rather see more posts about certain aspects instead of the daily updates? Let me know so I can give you what you would like to see.

Until next time. Keep Writing!!!

Leave a Reply

