Changes, Changes, Changes


I’m going to start by saying that yesterday definitely didn’t end the way I figured it would. And it was definitely for the good!

As I posted, I got up early and was able to get a number of things accomplished before even leaving for work. Then as the day progressed, I was able to get some things done and was actually looking forward to getting home and getting even more things done. The thing is that I had no idea that my evening would take such a shift.

So, here is what happened. I got my son to work and just pulled into the driveway when I received a text from a good friend. The text was simple, yet had me excited from the second I saw it: “Hi There! You still want to produce a show for me?”

See, way back in my history I actually was a paranormal investigator. I loved it. And it was even greater when I got a position to write for a print magazine. Then I had the opportunity to go to New York for a paranormal conference with two of my friends. Which lead to us meeting Todd Bates. Now, I won’t go into the whole situation of how we actually started talking since it involves a person who I’m not going to talk about, but after that weekend, Todd and I starting talking back and forth. This lead to me writing articles for his website….which lead to me producing his radio show many years down the road. I loved producing his show and actually realized that it was something I was good at. He decided to end his show and always said he was going to do another show down the road and wanted me to be the producer when the time came. And the time has come and I am excited beyond belief.

This lead to my evening not going entirely how I planned. I was up later than normal trying to get all my thoughts gathered in my head and didn’t get everything done on my list (Only my novel work which isn’t so bad.)

But one thing I determined is that I will probably need to cut back on some freelance assignments. I’m not making any major decisions until things are actually underway, but due to some issues, I already was steering close to doing it anyhow. I’m hoping to keep up this blog, but it may become more weekly than daily.

Plus, do to the excitement of this new position, I was up at 4am again this morning, but it seems to be working for me. Yesterday I got a lot accomplished and now this morning I’m getting things done… all before leaving for work.

I’ll keep you posted as things continue and now onto my list for the day.

Thursday, August 13, 2015

Here is what is on my to do list for the day:

  • Blog post – today’s post written after yesterday’s is finished.
  • Steve – Chapter 2 finished
  • Sandra – Add more to computer copy
  • Enchanted objects – fill in five boxes on grid
  • Producer – Organized and to do list

Here is what I got done today:

Producer – organized and to do list

Since being a producer deals with so many things that writers need to also deal with, I made the decision to add it to my to do list and also keep everyone updated. This format might change when things progress, but for now you get to join me for the beginning of a whole new radio show.

I guess the main thing I want to do today is try to get myself organized for the change and start my to do list. One thing a producer does is create a prep sheet for the show. I need to come up with that along with start looking for contacts. The list is growing of the things I need to do and it’s not even 6am. 🙂

As the day went on I did a number of internet searches and came up with a preliminary program schedule. There are changes which need to be made, but at least I have some idea of what the show set up will be like and it will help me as I start searching for guest.

Steve – Chapter 2 finished

I didn’t get a chance to work on this, but plan to complete it tomorrow since day off and get a great deal of chapter 3 done.

Sandra – add to computer copy

I was able to go through the outline and add a few things. I still feel like I am missing a great deal to this mystery to get everything connected in the end. Tomorrow will definitely need to be productive on this front.

Enchanted Objects – fill in five boxes on grid

Didn’t get any boxes filled in because I’m trying to figure out how I want the character to get from entering this new world where the paranormal beings she read about are real to where the midpoint is. I know I need to have a number of trials and errors and I’m trying to sort these out. It means going back to brainstorming on paper, but that is fine if in the end I have a great plot.

It was a productive day, although I would have really liked to have gotten some more done on Steve and Enchanted Objects. I think the biggest thing I have to work on right now is not letting myself get too involved with the producer work without getting my other items on my list done first. That will be my challenge until my freelance assignments are complete.

Well, until tomorrow…. Keep writing.

Leave a Reply

