Wednesday and Feeling Better


Got sleep last night, which was what I think I needed. Got up earlier than I planned this morning, but that is okay. Once I got around for work, I was actually able to sit down and look through Sandra project. Then I put together my Writing Guidebook and started making notes on things I wanted to change.

I made myself a promise this morning that until I get everything on my list done tonight, I won’t watch Pretty Little Lies that recorded last night. This will be a huge motivation since this is where the everything is revealed and I’ve eagerly been waiting for this episode. A huge push for me to get home this afternoon and get writing done.

I haven’t been happy with myself for not writing this week and it’s affected my writing because then I hit that low and don’t want to write. I think if I can get myself to accomplish more today, then the rest of the week will be more productive. The thing I am looking forward to is being off of work on Friday. My husband has an appointment that I am going with him for and he isn’t going into work until the same time as my son. This means no drive to take son to work. Hoping that this also means more writing going to get done.

While typing up the things I did this morning, I realized that I seemed to be finally figuring out my method for creating my novels. I start by brainstorming everything I know about the novel I want to write. Then I brainstorm some more until I have all the major plot points. From there I move onto the grid where I try to fill in any holes and make sure that everything is connecting. Once I reach the point where the grid is no longer working, I move onto typing in my outline, which allows me to add even more to the outline.

This is as far as I have reached on my writing process, but I know from working on Steve’s projects that once I have the written outline, I have no problem getting words onto “paper” and getting the novel written. Enchanted Objects will certainly be my test to see how well this whole new system works for me.

Well, need to get things done.

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Here is what is on my to do list for the day:

  • Blog post – today’s post written after yesterday’s is finished.
  • Steve – Chapter 1
  • Sandra – Transfer to computer
  • Enchanted objects – fill in five boxes on grid

Here is what I got done today:

Writing Guidebook

Since I got up earlier than usual, I was able to look at the current version that I printed out. I noticed I needed to move the margins in some more since some words are being cut off when punched for binder. Another thing I noticed was that everything was scattered. I think I’m going to put sections into it, that way I can have all the plotting information in one section, characters in another, etc. Plus, I’m still adding information to it as I find things online, which is the reason I put it into a three-ring binder. All I will have to do is print out the new information as I get it and add it to the right section.

Steve – Chapter 1

I got halfway through Chapter one. It actually went pretty fast. Once I got into the groove, I had no trouble getting things on paper. Although I needed to stop in order to get other stuff done, I felt really good about what accomplished today. Had plans to get more done in evening, but got derailed (see note at bottom of post!)

Sandra – transfer to computer

Another thing I got time to do before heading into work was look through this plot again. I think I have all the grids I am going to be able to fill out done. There are some holes, but my plan is to work through them as I type the plot up.

So far this method of using the plotting grid after brainstorming and then transferring it over to the computer outline has been working. This seems to be the method that will work out for me.

Was able to get the points that I have on my plotting grid onto the computer format. Then I went through and was able to get a few more things added. Tomorrow will definitely need to go through it better.

Enchanted Objects – fill in five boxes on grid

Didn’t get a chance to work on it. Mind was on other things…..

As I have mentioned in two of my accomplishments for the day, the day kinda went derailed in the afternoon. The thing is that it wasn’t due to something bad. I have some really great news….. which I will tell you about in tomorrow’s post.

Well, until tomorrow…. Keep writing.

Leave a Reply

