Changes


Wow! The time really slipped away from me this past week and weekend. There are so many things happening in my life that I didn’t realize until I was almost ready for bed that I never even thought about a blog post.

It is weird that it took an email for me to make some of my decisions and then reaching my limit to make another. I won’t go into a great amount of details right now, but the changes I did make in my life and the one I hope to make in the next couple of weeks will really make a difference in my writing. It means that I have one less project during the week and hopefully more time to work on the projects I am doing. Keep your fingers crossed and hopefully in a few weeks, I will have some news that I can post.

Sitting here, I have to think back through my life. The main reason is that on Friday, my son will turn eighteen years old. It doesn’t seem possible to me that he can be eighteen. It hasn’t been an easy run and a part of me has to laugh because I should have known considering the way he came into this world to start with.

We lived in a small town when I was pregnant… a small town along the Susquehanna River. Yep, if you are doing the math, my son was born during the 1996 floods. We were actually living in a hotel at the time I went into labor and he lived his first couple months in a hotel until we found a new place to live (far away from flooding). Plus after over twelve hours of labor, they decide he wasn’t going to fit the natural way and needed to be born by C-Section. It was a birth which told of a struggle we would face throughout the years.

Thinking over these past eighteen years, I have to compare my writing career to my life of a mother. When I started out, I was scared to death and had no idea what I was doing. I would write stories while he slept and try to get article assignments. Like a newly walking infant, I would take a few steps in the right direction and then fall flat on my butt. Almost like a preschooler and elementary child learning the ins and outs of life, I would go through different jobs of a writer discard them one after one. The things they like and don’t like; article writing for magazines, public relations, romance writing, etc. Then I reached the teenage years, both figuratively and literally.

This time of my life was miserable. We both were moody… him from the hormones going through his body and me from not quite understanding where I want to go in my career. I worked again with articles, but this time it all involved the paranormal. I liked this topic and even started going on paranormal investigations.  I was slowly learning the topics I wanted to focus on, but the path I was taking wouldn’t lead anywhere. The paranormal journalism field was basically non-existent when it comes to paying jobs. Then I discovered the paranormal fiction genre, especially the young adult area. It was almost like a light bulb went off. This was where I needed to focus my time.

And now as my son reaches adulthood, I am also in my writing career. I have finally made the decision of what I want to do with my life. I’ve found projects that I love and now it is time to be an adult about it and focus my time on reaching these goals. Maybe I will fail a few times along the way, but I have decided on the way, finally.

So, happy birthday and welcome to adulthood to my son. And I have to welcome the career path I have so long been searching for . Time to blow out the candles.

 

 

Leave a comment